Posted by: audaxing | May 14, 2014

An Ounce off the wheels

Foss Tubes

Foss Tubes

I heard about Foss tubes when I was reading Mike Hall’s account of the “Tour Divide”. His kit list was all good stuff but I wondered why he’d mentioned the tubes.

So I looked up Foss tubes. Alledgedly:

  • they have better puncture resistance
  • they are lighter weight
  • they are made from recycled materials

Which all sounds good, so I thought I’d give them a whirl. I found them on the online bike store www.bike-discount.de. Unlike standard butyl tubes they come in more exact sizes and the correct size must be used. They cost more than standard tubes. The tubes I normally use, Michelin A2 cost € 3.52 on the bike-discount site. The Foss tubes are € 14.02.

I am due to do a 600km event next weekend so I thought I’d change the tyres on the best bike and at the same time put in the Foss tubes.

What's in the pack

What’s in the pack

When I opened the pack it seems that they also include rim tape. I suppose this helps make the higher cost a little more acceptable. The rear wheel tape looked a bit tatty so I thought I’d replace it.

fitting new rim tape

fitting new rim tape

Before I put the new tube on the wheel I weighed it and a Michelin A2 for comparison. The Foss tube was 103g and the A2 was 148g. The A2 is not the absolute lightest but I’ve found them to be reliable. If the Foss is almost 50g lighter this is quite a nice bonus. Some people say that an ounce off the rim is worth a pound off the frame. I don’t think I’d go that far but even a small weight loss on the rotating rim is good news. For the pedants out there, it’s approximately 1.59 oz per wheel based on the tubes I weighed.

Tyre on

Tyre on

The rear tyre/tube went on easy: it’s an Open Pro and quite narrow rim

Front wheel

Front wheel

The front rim is a Exal LX17. This has the same ERD as an Open Pro and I replaced the old Open Pro rim with this. The LX17 has a wider internal width, 17mm like a Velocity A23 or other “wide” rims. It was a bit more tricky fitting the tube on this wider rim but not that difficult. The tyre was more difficult to get on too but with the shoe trick (using your foot as a lever) it went on in a few minutes

the shoe trick

The shoe trick

All set now for a ride across Wales at the weekend!

UPDATE: after using the tubes for a month or two I can’t tell you if they have some kind of amazing puncture resistance. I haven’t had a flat but that doesn’t mean a thing. The tyres do not have any massive sharps in them that the tube has dealt with. One downside I have noticed is that the tubes leak air faster than normal Butyl. After a few days a tyre pumped up to 7 bar / 100 psi will be down to 5.5 bar / 80 psi

Responses

  1. Have fun on the Bryan Chapman. Looking forward to reading about your experience. Last year was warm and dry… just saying like. :)

  2. I gave lightweight inner tube a try, I got the Schwable XXLight to replace the standard one I have on my wheels, the weight is pretty much identical (very little variation between each manufacturer I notice).

    The lower risk of puncture I think is largely due to it’s being more supple, allowing more flex when going through rough road, combine with decent tyres, it a match made in heaven.

    It’s the single biggest improvement I’ve notice on my bike, by buying a lighter more flexible tyres and inner tube, yet I only get between 3 to 8 puncture a year on average.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 346 other followers

